To provide you with the best experience on this website, cookies are used. By using the site it's assumed that you're happy with our use of cookies. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. More info on cookies.
Allow cookies

Advertisement

Northern Stage

About

“There's a vigour about Northern Stage which suggests a theatre company seriously getting into its stride” CULTURE magazine

Northern Stage is the largest producing theatre company in the North East of England, and we are very pleased that we are regarded as one of the top-eleven producing theatres in the UK. As well as our work in Newcastle, you might see us out on tour around the country with some of our biggest work and at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival with our temporary venue, Northern Stage at St Stephen's.

We have built a reputation for fresh and relevant productions of modern classics that attract audiences of all ages, including Edward Albee's razor-sharp Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, the Geordie epics Close The Coalhouse Door and Our Friends in the North, a 1950s version of Henrik Ibsen’s A Doll’s House, Angela Carter’s The Bloody Chamber and the landmark satirical musical Oh What A Lovely War. We’re also committed to families in the north-east and every year produce two new Christmas shows; past productions include A Christmas Carol,Thumbelina, The Wind in the Willows and The Borrowers

Besides producing our own work, we are dedicated to presenting the best in local, national and international theatre. Since reopening in 2006 we have hosted the likes of Frantic Assembly, Kneehigh Theatre, Headlong Theatre, DV8 Physical Theatre, The Opera Group, the National Theatre of Scotland and the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Our Creative Residencies programme gives resources to local theatre-makers to develop and present their work in our theatre and frequently you'll find emerging and developing artists using our spaces and creating work throughout the venue.
 

Opening Times

Northern Stage (1 Jan 2019 - 31 Dec 2019)

 

 

Map & Directions

Road Directions

Situated at the Haymarket in the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne all main roads to centre.

Public Transport Directions

Situated at the Haymarket in the Centre of Newcastle upon Tyne. Nearest Metro is Haymarket.

Be the first to know what's going on in NewcastleGateshead by signing up to our newsletter.

What's Nearby

  1. Culture Lab

    Culture Lab is the focal point for creative practice at Newcastle University, supporting...

    0.01 miles away
  2. Great North Museum: Hancock

    See a large-scale, interactive model of Hadrian's Wall, major new displays showing the...

    0.08 miles away
  1. Newcastle City Pool and Turkish Baths

    Newcastle City Pool and Turkish Baths - Reopens Summer 2019!

    0.21 miles away
  2. Sport Central

    Sport Central is home to the hopes and aspirations of thousands of Northumbria University...

    0.3 miles away
  3. Newcastle City Library

    A modern building with a staggering book collection, also the home of Newcastle's local...

    0.36 miles away
  4. Grey's Monument

    A visit to Newcastle wouldn't be complete with a wander to the foot of Grey's Monument in...

    0.39 miles away
  5. Exhibition Park

    Exhibition Park is situated in the Wingrove Ward of the city and like its neighbouring...

    0.41 miles away
  6. Leazes Park

    The city's oldest park with a tranquil lake; escape the hustle and bustle and feed the...

    0.41 miles away
Previous Next

Search What's Nearby

Product Type
Proximity
Within miles

Facilities

Catering

  • On-Site café/restaurant

Related

McKennas at Northern Stage, Newcastle upon Tyne

Wednesday, 1st May 2019 - Saturday, 4th May 2019

Newcastle Poetry Festival 2019 at Northern Stage
more info

Wednesday, 27th March 2019 - Sunday, 31st March 2019

The Cat in The Hat at Northern Stage
more info

Tuesday, 2nd April 2019 - Wednesday, 3rd April 2019

Heart of Darkness at Northern Stage
more info

Friday, 5th April 2019 - Friday, 5th April 2019

The Shape of The Pain at Northern Stage
more info

Saturday, 6th April 2019 - Saturday, 6th April 2019

Jinkx Monsoon & Major Scales: The Ginger Snapped at Northern Stage
more info

Monday, 8th April 2019 - Saturday, 13th April 2019

Rain Man at Northern Stage
more info

Friday, 12th April 2019 - Friday, 12th April 2019

Mischief and Mystery in Moomin Valley at Northern Stage
more info

Tuesday, 16th April 2019 - Thursday, 18th April 2019

Northern Ballet at Northern Stage: Mixed Programme
more info

Tuesday, 16th April 2019 - Tuesday, 16th April 2019

Bicycles and Fish at Northern Stage
more info

Thursday, 18th April 2019 - Thursday, 18th April 2019

Northern Ballet: Puss in Boots at Northern Stage
more info

Tuesday, 23rd April 2019 - Tuesday, 23rd April 2019

ADA
more info

Wednesday, 24th April 2019 - Friday, 26th April 2019

Where Do We Belong? at Northern Stage
more info

Thursday, 25th April 2019 - Saturday, 27th April 2019

Chekhov's First Play at Northern Stage
more info

Monday, 29th April 2019 - Tuesday, 30th April 2019

The Isle of Brimsker: Where The Waves Meet The Rock at Northern Stage
more info

Tuesday, 30th April 2019 - Saturday, 4th May 2019

Equus at Northern Stage
more info

Tuesday, 7th May 2019 - Saturday, 11th May 2019

Noughts and Crosses at Northern Stage
more info

Monday, 13th May 2019 - Monday, 13th May 2019

Outcaste at Northern Stage
more info

Saturday, 18th May 2019 - Saturday, 18th May 2019

Kaleidoscope at Northern Stage
more info

Tuesday, 21st May 2019 - Tuesday, 21st May 2019

Pricks at Northern Stage
more info

Thursday, 23rd May 2019 - Thursday, 23rd May 2019

Woke at Northern Stage
more info

Friday, 24th May 2019 - Friday, 24th May 2019

Sofie Hagen: Bubblewrap at Northern Stage
more info

Tuesday, 28th May 2019 - Saturday, 1st June 2019

The Tin Foil Astronaut at Northern Stage
more info

Wednesday, 29th May 2019 - Wednesday, 29th May 2019

The Listening Room at Northern Stage
more info

Thursday, 30th May 2019 - Saturday, 15th June 2019

A Thousand Splendid Suns at Northern Stage
more info

Saturday, 1st June 2019 - Saturday, 1st June 2019

Northern Stage is Curious: 2019
more info

Wednesday, 5th June 2019 - Wednesday, 5th June 2019

The Remarkable Tale of Robert Desnos at Northern Stage
more info

Thursday, 13th June 2019 - Saturday, 15th June 2019

joey at Northern Stage
more info

Saturday, 22nd June 2019 - Saturday, 22nd June 2019

There and Back Again: An Odyssey at Northern Stage
more info

Wednesday, 22nd May 2019 - Wednesday, 22nd May 2019

The Cult of K*nzo
more info

Other Websites